Meandering49

something about everything

What Should America be?

 

Trump is a rascal

A grown-up Eddie Haskell

He would build a wall between us and Mexico

While Hillary takes money from Texaco

Trump doesn’t give a damn about facts

And Hillary sold herself to Goldman-Sachs

The truth is dead, lying on a gurney

So whatever happened to Bernie?

Flawed candidates, no doubt. So whom will I vote for? It’s easy for me, because ultimately it’s about more than the candidates. They represent two vastly different philosophies of life. Two visions of America.

Here’s my vision for America:

  • I want to see equal rights for all Americans. I don’t care how they look, where they came from, what their sexual orientation is…or anything else.
  • I want to see action on the most serious problem of our time – global warming. To hear Trump say that it’s a Chinese hoax is appalling.
  • I want to see a thoughtful and humane solution to the immigration problem. Building a wall is as offensive to me as the Berlin wall was to the world.
  • I want to see common sense gun control. Period. Fuck the NRA.
  • I’m sick of trickle-down economics and its time-honored tax breaks for the rich. It’s never worked. Except for the rich.
  • I want to see policies that promote the growth of the middle class.
  • I want a country that tackles poverty and racism head on.
  • I want to see a serious respect for science.
  • I want to see religion out of politics, as the founders intended. Christian extremism is as dangerous as other types of extremism.
  • I want to see the role of money in elections reduced – and Citizens United overturned.
  • I want to see term limits for Congress.

Hillary Clinton is certainly not George Washington. But if you believe as I do, you must vote for her, or put the country in the hands of a power-hungry narcissist and a Christian evangelist who once proclaimed that cigarettes don’t kill.

What’s your vision for America?

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “What Should America be?

  1. Joel & Michelle Caney on said:

    Well said. Our biggest concern is that people will stay home in huge numbers and not vote. This will, of course, have a negative effect on Clinton and could hand the election to Trump. It is important to look at the candidate as the entirely platform. Look at what nominations he or she will make to the Supreme Court and what affect that will have on the future. This is a critical time in history. It is vital to vote and that vote be for Clinton.

    • It is imperative to get the word out there. The implications of a Trump presidency is frightening. But I agree. There are too many uninformed people who just don’t understand and may not vote.

  2. John. Bonando on said:

    Great poem

What Do You Think?