Meandering49

something about everything

How to Define your Blog’s Target Audience

When I think about the target audience for my blog, I can’t help thinking about this scene in the 1951 version of “A Christmas Carol.”

Scrooge: “But it was only that you were an honest man of business, Jacob.”

Marley: “Business??!!  Mankind was my business!!!”

It’s not that I believe my blog posts could have profound implications for all the citizens of planet Earth; It’s just that I believe there could be a creature in Madagascar who would be as interested in what I have to say as a retired electrician from Connecticut.

 

Lemur Blog Discussion Group in Madagascar

Since I signed on to Twitter a few months ago, I’ve seen a blizzard of advice on how to define my target audience and an avalanche of strategies that would ensure more “traffic” to my blog.

“Carve out a niche”

 “Define your audience”

“Target your blog posts to that audience.”

 “Understand SEO writing and other factors that bring up your blog ranking.”

It’s the business of blogging, I know.  I wasn’t born yesterday.  There’s a presumption that you’re “in the game” for business purposes.  Selling.  Buying.  Making money.

It’s as if Adam Smith were an astronaut launched into orbit in cyberspace to talk about free markets.  You play by the same rules as you do on the ground – except you don’t have to fight traffic on congested highways.  If fact, you don’t have to go anywhere.

Now I don’t have anything against making money; but I would prefer that making money would be a byproduct of what I write rather than a byproduct of driving traffic to what I write. Okay…so it’s a bit idealistic.

But for now, I’ve decided  that I’ll define the target audience for my infant blog by not defining my target audience.  Of course…my course of action could change and then my target audience would change.

How can I be sure of this?  Because as Scrooge said to the Ghost of Christmas Yet to Come:

“Men’s courses will foreshadow certain ends, to which, if persevered in, they must lead.

But if the courses be departed from, the ends will change.”

Who could argue with the logic of Dickens?


Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “How to Define your Blog’s Target Audience

  1. Laura Frugone on said:

    I happen to be a retired electrician from Connecticut and creatures from Madagascar have nothing of interest compared to this blog.

  2. Pingback: Super Saturday Selections – How to decide? « Family Bugs Blogging

  3. Pingback: 7 Things to Know Before Even STARTING Your Craft Selling Business « Family Bugs Blogging

What Do You Think?

